Governor Parnell Announces Board Appointments


Juneau, AK – July 21, 2010 – (RealEstateRama) — Governor Sean Parnell today announced appointments to the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation Board of Directors, Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation Board of Directors, Natural Resources Conservation and Development Board, State Historical Records Advisory Board, State Officers Compensation Commission, and Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education.Alaska Housing Finance Corporation Board of Directors

Governor Parnell reappointed Brent LeValley and Marty Shuravloff to the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation’s Board of Directors. The board provides mortgage loan financing, acts as the principal source of residential financing in the state, and functions as a secondary mortgage market. The board also provides for the financing, construction and acquisition of public buildings for lease to the state.

LeValley, of Fairbanks, has more than 35 years of experience in construction and commercial lending in Interior Alaska. He is the senior vice president of the Denali State Bank, where he has worked in various roles since 1975. He is a board member of the Cold Climate Housing Research Center and the Interior Alaska Building Association. LeValley was reappointed to a seat reserved for a finance or real estate representative.

Shuravloff, of Kodiak, is the executive director of the Kodiak Island Housing Authority, where he has worked since 1992. He previously served on the board of directors of the National American Indian Housing Council and the Association of Alaska Housing Authorities. Shuravloff was reappointed to a seat reserved for a rural resident or person experienced with the Regional Housing Authority.

Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation Board of Directors

Governor Parnell reappointed William (Bill) Moran Jr. to the Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation Board of Directors, which manages and invests the assets of the permanent fund and other funds designated by law.

Moran, of Ketchikan, is the president of First Bank of Ketchikan, where he has worked for the past 34 years. He serves as the director of the Ketchikan Pioneers Home Foundation and as the director of the First City Players for four years. Moran was reappointed to a public seat.

Natural Resources Conservation and Development Board

Governor Parnell reappointed Cheryl Thompson to the Natural Resources Conservation and Development Board. The five-member board, composed of land users, makes recommendations to the commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources on matters relating to conservation and development of Alaska’s non-game resources.

Thompson, of Nome, has owned a gardening business in Nome since 1984. She taught sub-Arctic horticulture and gardening as an adjunct instructor at UAF’s Northwest Campus and at the University’s Cooperative Extension Service in Nome. She organized, led and hosted the Nome Garden Tour from 2003 to 2007. Thompson was appointed to a seat reserved for a resident of Northwest Alaska or the Arctic.

State Historical Records Advisory Board

Governor Parnell reappointed Bridget J. Burke and appointed Gladi Kulp to the State Historical Records Advisory Board. The board reviews project requests and grant applications, and plans for statewide needs relating to records management and historical documents.

Burke, of Fairbanks, is the head of the Alaska and Polar Regions Collections at University of Alaska Fairbanks. She has served as the coordinator of public service and outreach at the Wells College Library in Aurora, New York. She has also been the head of special collections and archives at George Mason University in Virginia, and was the curator of books and manuscripts for the Colorado Historical Society and the assistant curator of the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University. Burke was appointed to a seat reserved for a UAF archivist.

Kulp, of Juneau, is a board member of the Alaska Historical Society. She was a member of the Alaska Native Advisory Board and the Alaska Digital Archives Project. A former acting Alaska state archivist, Kulp once headed historical collections for the Alaska State Library. She was appointed to a public/historical seat.

State Officers Compensation Commission

Governor Parnell reappointed Gordon Harrison to the State Officers Compensation Commission. The commission reviews the salaries, benefits and allowances of members of the Legislature, the governor, the lieutenant governor and the heads of principal executive departments.

Harrison, of Juneau, is retired from a career of public service. He is the author of the Citizens’ Guide to the Alaska Constitution and also served as director of the Legislative Research Agency, the Alaska Redistricting Board and the Alaska Power Authority. He also was an associate director of the Office of Management and Budget and an associate professor of the University of Alaska Southeast. Harrison was nominated by the House of Representatives.

Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education

Governor Parnell appointed Susan Anderson and James R. Johnsen to the Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education. The commission serves to develop and disseminate information for higher education planning in the West and to provide access and opportunity for students from the 15 member states to share in higher education resources.

Anderson, of Anchorage, is the president and CEO of The CIRI Foundation, an organization that encourages the education and career development of Alaska Natives by providing scholarships and grants for post-secondary education. She is also the co-chair of the ANCSA Education Consortium and the chair of Best Beginnings, and she serves on the board of the Friends of the Alaska Children’s Trust. Anderson served as a contractor for the Sealaska Heritage Foundation and the Kake Tribal Corporation. In addition, she was a member of the Alaska Humanities Forum and the Alaska Natural History Association. Anderson also serves on the United Way of Anchorage board of directors and is a trustee for the University of Alaska Foundation. Anderson was appointed to a public seat.

Johnsen, of Fairbanks, is currently the senior vice president of administration at Doyon Limited, the Alaska Native regional corporation based in the Interior. He is also an adjunct professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks and a member of the State Committee on Research. Johnsen has held numerous positions with the University of Alaska statewide system, including vice president of administration, vice president of faculty and staff relations, and chief of staff. His education includes a master’s degree from the University of Chicago and a doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania. Johnsen was appointed to a seat reserved for a higher education representative.


Alaska RealEstateRama is an Internet based Real Estate News and Press Release distributor chanel of RealEstateRama for Alaska Real Estate publishing community.

RealEstateRama staff editor manage to selection and verify the real estate news for State of Alaska.


Previous articleIDX Broker software revolutionizes Alaskan online home search with Re/Max in Anchorage